Frequently Asked Questions

What are the “The Saxon Chronicles / Saxon Stories”?

We took the loot back to the ships and that night, while I drank beer, I thought of myself as a Dane. Not English, not anymore. I was Danish and had had a perfect childhood, at least for the musings of a boy. I had been raised among men, was free, ran loose, was not restricted by any law, was not bothered by priests, was encouraged to violence and was rarely alone. And it was that, the fact that I was rarely alone, that kept me alive.


“The Last Kingdom,” first book of the “The Saxon Chronicles / Saxon Stories” series, was published in 2004 by renowned British author Bernard Cornwell, and tells the story of Uhtred, a Saxon boy born into aristocracy in the then Kingdom of Northumbria (now England) of the ninth century, and who was orphaned at the age of 10 when he saw his father being killed by Danish Viking invaders.

Despite the tragedy, Uhtred is, in a way, adopted by the invaders and educated in the culture and ways of the Vikings.

Throughout the plot, Uhtred’s fate is entwined to that of Alfred, King of Wessex, who rules over the last Saxon kingdom while the Danish invade and conquer Northumbria, Mercia, and East Anglia.

The Saxon Stories books fall in the genre of historical fiction and portray the beginnings of what would one day become the Kingdom of England. They portray the duality and constant conflict between paganism of ancient gods and the Christian monotheism; the uncertain and divided loyalty between Danes and Saxons; the strength of oaths in the Middle Ages; the betrayals in the quest for power and the brilliant mind of King Alfred the Great.

The word swear was powerful. All our laws depend on oaths.


Currently, the Saxon Stories have had 8 books published and the release date for the 9th book this year in the UK.

How many and what are the books that comprise the “The Saxon Chronicles / Saxon Stories”?

All of the books already published for the series are found in this section do nosso blog, of our blog, each with its respective synopsis and full review.

Are there other books related to the universe of the “The Saxon Chronicles / Saxon Stories”?

Directly related, no. However, Bernard Cornwell has published several books related to the history of England and Great Britain, such as the renowned series The Warlord Chronicles, The Grail Quest, Sharpe, in addition to the books Azincourt and 1356.

How many seasons will “The Last Kingdom” have?

This information has not yet been divulged by BBC. For now, only the first season (which will comprise the first two books of the Saxon Stories series) has been confirmed.

What does “Wyrd Bið Ful Aræd” mean?

Ravn told me repeatedly that fate was everything. Fate rules. The three spinners sit by the tree of life and make our life. And we are their pawns, and even though we believe that we make choices, our fate rests entirely on the spinners’ threads. Fate is everything, and that day, though I did not know, my fate was spun. Wyrd Bið Ful Aræd, it is impossible to stop fate.


Wyrd Bið Ful Aræd in an expression in Old English that means “fate is inexorable”and it is repeated several times by Uhtred throughout the books, always with the intent to say we have no power or autonomy to truly govern our lives, for the inevitable fate of each individual has already been drawn.